Teaching Awards Recipients

UBC Okanagan’s Teaching Awards recognize outstanding and innovative faculty who demonstrate their dedication to an important common goal—teaching excellence. We are pleased to recognize several exceptional individuals who embody our academic mission of teaching excellence at the upcoming virtual UBC Okanagan Teaching Awards Ceremony.

2021 Teaching Award Winners


Provost’s Award for Teaching Excellence and Innovation

Jannik Eikenaar | School of Engineering

Dr. Eikenaar began teaching in the School of Engineering in 2014 and demonstrates excellence by engaging his students through innovative, active learning strategies and activities while modeling respectful engagement and fostering an inclusive learning environment. Dr. Eikenaar has also promoted the idea of psychological safety in teamwork, allowing students to feel they are able to contribute effectively in a group work environment.


Provost’s Award for Teaching Excellence and Innovation

Jordan Stouck | Faculty of Creative and Critical Studies

Known as a generous collaborator and an esteemed instructor, Dr. Stouck is an associate professor of Teaching in the English Program of the Department of English and Cultural Studies, Associate Dean, Faculty of Creative and Critical Studies, who has demonstrated the value of community, and the creation of learning outcomes for the courses that closely aligned with the assessment tools that measured these outcomes ensured a stable and equitable delivery across all iterations of these courses.


Killam Teaching Prize

Karen Ragoonaden | Okanagan School of Education

Dr. Ragoonaden is a professor in the Faculty of Education and is a tireless and committed mentor to her students. She was instrumental in establishing the scholar-practitioner model that serves as the scholarly and pedagogical focus of the Okanagan School of Education (OSE). This model now infuses the teacher education program and ensures that beginning teachers are grounding their careers in reflective praxis.

2019 – 2020

Dr. Zoë Soon, Irving K. Barber Faculty of Science
Dr. Karen Ragoonaden, Okanagan School of Education

2018 – 2019

Dr. Andis Klegeris, IKBSAS 
Dr. Sally Willis-Stewart, School of Health and Exercise Sciences 

2017 – 2018

Dr. Yang Cao, School of Engineering 
Dr. Leyton Schnellert, Faculty of Education 

2016 – 2017

Dr. Ramon Lawrence, IKBSAS 
Dr. Christine Schreyer, IKBSAS 

2015 – 2016

Dr. Mary Ann Murphy, IKBSAS 
Dr. Zach Walsh, IKBSAS 

2014 – 2015

Dr. Ray Taheri (Junior), School of Engineering 
Dr. Stephen Porter (Senior), IKBSAS  

2013 – 2014

Dr. Mina Hoorfar (Junior), School of Engineering
Dr. Susan Crichton (Senior), Faculty of Education

2012 – 2013

Dr. John Wagner (Senior), IKBSAS
Dr. Jonathan Holzman, School of Engineering
Dr. Ilya Parkins, IKBSAS 

2011 – 2012

Dr. Erik Rosolowsky (Junior), IKBSAS
Dr. Paul Davies (Junior), IKBSAS
Dr. Naomi McPherson (Senior), IKBSAS

2010 – 2011

Dr. Carolyn Labun (Senior) , School of Engineering
Dr. Joyce Boon (Senior), IKBSAS

2009 – 2010

Dr. Michael Woodworth, IKBSAS
Dr. Patricia Lasserre, IKBSAS 

2008 – 2009

Dr. Stephen McNeil, IKBSAS
Dr. Maurice Williams, IKBSAS

2007 – 2008

Dr. Jan Cioe, IKBSAS 

2006 – 2007     

Dr. Blair Spearman, IKBSAS 

2020 – 2021

Dr. Karen Ragoonaden, Okanagan School of Education

2019 – 2020

Dr. Ramon Lawrence, Irving K. Barber Faculty of Science

2018 – 2019

Dr. Jonathan Holzman, School of Engineering

2017 – 2018

Dr. Stephen McNeil, IKBSAS


This award seeks to recognize exceptional undergraduate and graduate teaching assistants and tutors for their contributions to academic life at UBC’s Okanagan campus. We are proud to recognize this year’s award recipients.

2020 / 2021 Award Recipients

  • Clerissa Copeland, Irving K. Barber Faculty of Science
  • Robin Metcalfe, Faculty of Health and Social Development
  • Tina Olfatbakhsh, School of Engineering
  • Jasper Pankratz, Irving K. Barber Faculty of Science
  • Riley Petillion, Irving K. Barber Faculty of Science
  • Jo Scofield, College of Graduate Studies
  • Reza Sourki, School of Engineering
  • Sandun Tharaka Wanniarachchi, School of Engineering