Deans’ Council & Faculties

Deans’ Council

The Deans’ Council is advisory to the Provost. The mandate of the Council is to provide a forum for discussing academic issues such as program development and enhancing the academic infrastructure. The Council provides advice to the Provost on issues relating to teaching and research at UBC’s Okanagan campus.


Dr. Sarah Brears, Regional Associate Dean, Interior
Southern Medical Program (Faculty of Medicine)
Dr. Gino DiLabio, Dean
Irving K. Barber Faculty of Science
Dr. Jan Hare, Dean pro tem
Okanagan School of Education (Faculty of Education)
Dr. Peter Simpson, Dean
College of Graduate Studies
Dr. James Olson, Dean
Faculty of Applied Science — School of Engineering
Dr. Roger Sugden, Dean
Faculty of Management
Dr. Marie Tarrant, Dean pro tem
Faculty of Health and Social Development 
Dr. Silvia Tomášková, Dean
Irving K. Barber Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences
Dr. Bryce Traister, Dean
Faculty of Creative and Critical Studies
Heather Berringer
Associate Provost, Learning Services
Michael Burgess
Associate Provost, Strategy
Brad Wuetherick
Associate Provost, Academic Programs, Teaching and Learning

Faculties and Schools

UBC’s Okanagan campus has eight Faculties and Schools, each offering a range of academic programs.

Faculties and Schools

Campus Leadership and Administration

Learn more about the senior leadership at both the University of British Columbia’s campuses.

Campus leadership and administration