The UBC Board of Governor’s has recently approved the appointment of Dr. Ananya Mukherjee-Reed as Provost and Vice-Principal Academic at UBC Okanagan for a five-year term beginning November 1, 2018.

“I am delighted to welcome Ananya to UBC Okanagan,” says Deborah Buszard, Deputy Vice-Chancellor and Principal of UBC Okanagan. “She brings a wealth of knowledge and experience to this new position and I’m confident that her fresh new perspective will serve our campus well.”

Dr. Mukherjee-Reed is coming to UBC with over 20 years’ experience at York University, Canada’s third largest university. She has a distinguished academic record and is a recognized leader in her field.

During her time at York she has served as Associate Vice-President of Research, Chair of the Department of Political Science, and Founding Director of the International Secretariat for Human Development, and most recently as Dean of the Faculty of Liberal Arts and Professional Studies, the largest faculty of its kind in Ontario and home to 23,000 students from 123 countries.

Professor Mukherjee-Reed is a highly respected scholar in the area of Development Studies. She was recently named as one of five brilliant women in academia by Canadian Immigrant magazine in their Third Annual Tribute to ‘Immigrant Women of Inspiration’. Dr. Mukherjee-Reed obtained her PhD in Economics and Public Policy from the University of Southern California and her MA and BA in Economics from Jadavpur University, Kolkata, India.

“I eagerly look forward to the opportunity to work with an inspiring community of world-class researchers and an excellent student body. The university’s mandate to serve the region as well as its distinct global orientation are of great significance to me,” says Mukherjee-Reed.

“I feel UBCO offers a fantastic context for exploring how top public universities can engage with the greatest societal challenges of our times.”


Dr. Patricia Lasserre will be Interim Provost and Vice-Principal until October 31, 2018


Academic Initiatives


In 2014 the Okanagan campus completed a long-term, consultative visioning known as Aspire. The process was undertaken to develop a vision for the next phase of life for UBC in the Okanagan following the campus’ initial period of rapid growth and development. The results of Aspire will offer guidance for a variety of planning exercises that will be iterative and inclusive. The final report is available online here.

Learn more at the Aspire website

Provost Committees

Members of the Provost Committees are appointed by the Provost from the faculty, administrative and professional staff. The Provost determines the composition of these committees and accepts, modifies, or rejects all committee recommendations.


The Dean’s Council is advisory to the Provost. The mandate of the Council is to provide a forum for discussing academic issues such as program development, enhancing the academic infrastructure, etc. The council provides advice to the Provost on issues relating to teaching and research at the University of British Columbia’s Okanagan campus.


This committee is comprised of key stakeholders from academic and administrative units. It provides a forum for the optimal enrolment for the campus including recruitment, retention, and attainment of enrolment targets.


This committee brings together Associate Deans, Directors, and Senior Managers to discuss best practices, challenges, and opportunities to enhance our students’ academic experiences at UBC Okanagan.


Comprised of key stakeholders across campus, this committee is responsible for strategic guidance in relation to learning spaces and technology for the Provost Office and advises currently existing space committees.